Being Innovative As a Learner

I think that this semester I have been a lot more of an innovative learner because I have been much more open to doing my work differently. For example, I have found new ways to practice piano and vocal pieces, as well as memorizing them. In fact, I was able to memorize my music much quicker than any other semester. Doing things like starting from the end and working my way back has really helped. Even though that does not seem very innovative, it is kind of tough for me to do that, and it really did work well in the end. Innovation in learning can be a multitude of different things. There are always different strategies and approaches for every subject or task. Doing things differently from what is considered “normal,” I think is innovative. Anytime you are able to find another approach that works and is efficient is innovative. Whatever you can find that works best for your students is innovative.

I am an educator. I am an innovator. I am an innovative educator and I will continue to ask “what is best for learners.” -Couros The Mindset of an Innovator

This semester I have “unlearned” my old habit of always starting from the beginning in any scenario. I have been able to interpret what is going on in my classes in a different way, that is honestly more open minded. Especially after doing my observation hours for O&P, I learned a lot about the different methods of teaching music.  As far as what I think I need to learn more about as a teacher, I think I need to be able to find the more innovative ways of presenting information quicker. Or finding what would works best for students, quicker. I notice that many teachers get stuck in a rut of always doing the same things, and I want to be better at find new activities and methods to use.

I think that I will at least continue to check Twitter because my PLN has a lot to offer and it is the easiest to share links on. I have surprised myself lately with how much I have accomplished over the course of 16 weeks. This has been my most trying and stressful semester by far, and I was able to finish everything that I set out to do. I also think I was able to learn a great deal about being an educator during this semester, more so than I have in the past.

Author: cheyannathompson

I am a Senior at Chadron State College in Chadron, Nebraska. I study music education, and I will be endorsed for vocal K-12.

Leave a comment